Facebook must be one of the best ways to communicate with people, but it could also be the coldest. You had a friend and suddenly you are not able to contact with him anymore. In FB, people can block you just any time. If somebody dislikes you or gets offended by any comments you made, that person can just block you and your friendship stands terminated. So how can you tell if someone blocked you on Facebook or the real reason for not being able to view someone’s profile is because that person is no longer active in the site?
Hope the following conditions do shed some light on how can you tell if someone blocked you on Facebook?
If you are not able to contact with someone in Facebook, it could be because the person:
• Has blocked you either purposely or accidently
• Has been blocked by Facebook
• No longer has an account in Facebook
If you try to message a person who has blocked you, then the messages will not reach him. So if a person does not respond to your messages in spite of mentioning that they are urgent, then it could be because the person has blocked you. And the reason might be because he has chosen to ignore you.
You can log into your Facebook account and search for the person. If the person appears in search list, then he hasn’t blocked you, and if he doesn’t appear in it, then you can be sure that, that person has indeed blocked you. The reason is this – if a person blocks you in FB, then you will not be able to find him even when you search for him. The person can adjust the privacy settings in such a way that they are practically invisible to you.
If you want to know if that person is still active in Facebook, then you can find that in the following ways:
Log off your FB account, search for the person by typing the person’s full name, for example, “XYZ ABC Facebook” in any major search engine . If the person appears in the search engine, then it could be because the person has blocked you. This method is called the standard search method.
You can ask a mutual friend, if he has heard from XYZ in a while. If the answer is positive, then the person has blocked you. You can also search them through ‘friend of friends’ list in Facebook.
If you are not able to find a particular person, then it may also mean that the person has adjusted his privacy settings, so he will be found only by a selected few. In this case, the person may not have blocked you on purpose.
If you search for that particular person in mutual friend’s list and don’t find him, then probably, it is because that person has blocked you. You won’t be able to see their posts or comments.
Create a different account (an alias) and search for that person through that account. Search for your friend and if he appears in the search results, then it is probably because he has blocked you in your original account.
If you are not able to communicate with someone and that person has not blocked you, then it could be because FB has suspended that person’s account for violating the site’s rules.
On the other hand, if you have been blocked out of a network, say a college network and the profile you are searching for is from that account, then you won’t be able to create another FB account.
The conclusion: If you are able to see someone when you are logged out of Facebook, bad luck, the person has blocked you.